Please note : This help page is for an older version of Enteprise Archtiect. The latest help can be found here.

Compare Utility Tab Options

The Compare Utility tab enables you to perform operations on the reported information, using the toolbar, context menu and certain keyboard keys.

Note:

If a package under version control forms part of a Baseline, and that package is checked in to the model, you cannot merge the original data from the Baseline into that package.

Toolbar

The toolbar is at the top of the left-hand panel. The icons operate either on the comparison as a whole or on the currently-selected item in the left hand panel.

CompareUt Toolbar

The toolbar icon names and functions are, from left to right:

Option

Use to

Refresh

Re-run the comparison to refresh the current display.

Merge To Model

Merge the values of the currently-selected item in the Baseline back into the model.

Next Change

Highlight the next changed item (skips Moved items).

Previous Change

Highlight the previously-changed item.

Expand All

Fully expand the selected item.

Collapse All

Collapse the changed items in the selected item.

Expand To Changed Items

Expand the selected item to show changed items only (in the event that you have selected to also show unchanged items in the comparison).

Find in Project Browser

Highlight the item in the Project Browser.

Log To XML

Log the changes to an XML file. A browser displays, on which you specify the file name and location.

Compare Options

Display the Compare Options dialog.

Manage Baselines

Display the Manage Baselines dialog.

Help

Display the Help topic Baselines, Differencing and Merges.

Context Menu

Each item in the hierarchy has a context menu, which you display by right-clicking on the item. The options displayed depend on the level of the item in the hierarchy, but include some or all of the following:

Option

Use to

Merge from Baseline

Add from Baseline

Restore the item in the model to the Baseline state, or restore a deleted item from the Baseline.

Delete from Model

Remove a recently-created item from the model.

Merge From Baseline (with Options)

(For the root node of the hierarchy on the Compare Utility tab.)

Display the Merge dialog (see below) which enables you to specify options for rolling back the whole model branch to the Baseline state.

Refresh

(Object-level items).

Re-run the comparison to refresh the current display.

Find in Project Browser

Locate and highlight the item in the Project Browser.

Expand All

Fully expand the selected item.

Expand To Changed Items

Expand the selected item to show changed items only.

Collapse All

Collapse the changed items in the selected item.

Log To XML

Log the changes to an XML file. A browser displays, on which you specify the file name and location.

Compare Options

Display the Compare Options dialog.

MergeDialog

Select the appropriate checkbox against each type of difference to roll back in the model from the Baseline.

Option

Use to

Changed

Restore all changed items in the model branch to the Baseline state.

In Baseline Only

Restore all deleted items to the model branch from the Baseline.

In Model Only

Remove all recently-created items from the model branch.

Moved

Restore all moved items to their original locations, as identified in the Baseline.

Full Restore from XMI

Completely restore the model branch to the version held in the Baseline XMI 1.1 file, (using the XMI Import function).

(Automatically selects all the other options.)

Keyboard

You can also use the following keyboard keys to move up and down the hierarchy, or to roll back changes:

  • [Ctrl]+[$] - expand and highlight the next changed item
  • [Ctrl]+[#] - expand and highlight the previous changed item
  • [Ctrl]+[!] - undo the changes for a selected item (roll back to the Baseline values).