Please note : This help page is for an older version of Enteprise Archtiect. The latest help can be found here.

Locked Element Indicators

When an item is locked through Project Security, the lock is indicated in the Project Browser by a marker against the item, as shown below.

ClippedBrowser_Userlock

The meaning of the marker depends on the security mode.

If you are using the Require User Lock to Edit security mode:

  • No marker - there is no lock, the item is not editable, but any user can now apply a user lock to edit the item
  • Blue exclamation mark - the current user has applied a user lock and can edit the item; no other user can edit the item
  • Red exclamation mark - another user has applied a user lock, and the current user cannot edit the item.

If you are using the standard security mode:

  • No marker - there is no lock, the item is editable, but any user can now apply a user or group lock
  • Blue exclamation mark - the item has a lock set by the current user or a group having the current user as a member, and the user can edit the item
  • Red exclamation mark - the item has a lock set by another user, or a group of which the current user is not a member; the current user cannot edit the item.

If another user has locked an item, you can identify who has locked it.

Note:

If a diagram is locked and you select an object on it, the object border displays in red. This indicates that you cannot change the object.