Please note : This help page is for an older version of Enteprise Archtiect. The latest help can be found here.

Compare Utility Tab Options

The Compare Utility tab enables you to perform operations on the reported information, using the toolbar, context menu, Merge dialog and certain keyboard keys.

  • The toolbar is at the top of the left-hand panel; the icons operate either on the comparison as a whole or on the currently-selected item in the left hand panel of the Compare Utility tab
  • Each item in the hierarchy has a context menu, which you display by right-clicking on the item; the options displayed depend on the level of the item in the hierarchy
  • The Merge dialog enables you to specify which changes to roll back in the model from the baseline
  • You can use a selection of keyboard keys to move up and down the hierarchy, or to roll back changes

Reference - Toolbar:

CompareUt Toolbar

Action

Usage

Shortcut

See also

Refresh

Re-run the comparison to refresh the current display

 

 

Merge To Model

Merge the values of the currently-selected item in the Baseline back into the model

 

 

Next Change

Highlight the next changed item (skips Moved items)

 

 

Previous Change

Highlight the previously-changed item

 

 

Expand All

Fully expand the selected item

 

 

Collapse All

Collapse the changed items in the selected item

 

 

Expand To Changed Items

Expand the selected item to show changed items only (in the event that you have selected to also show unchanged items in the comparison)

 

Compare options

Find in Project Browser

Highlight the item in the Project Browser

 

 

Log To XML

Log the changes to an XML file

A browser displays, on which you specify the file name and location

 

 

Compare Options

Display the Compare Options dialog

 

Compare Options

Manage Baselines

Display the Manage Baselines dialog

 

Manage Baselines

Help

Display the Help topic Package Baselines

 

Package Baselines

Reference - Context Menu:

Action

Usage

Shortcut

See also

Merge from Baseline

Add from Baseline

Restore the item in the model to the Baseline state, or restore a deleted item from the Baseline

 

 

Delete from Model

Remove a recently-created item from the model

 

 

Merge From Baseline (with Options)

(For the root node of the hierarchy on the Compare Utility tab)

Display the Merge dialog (see below) which enables you to specify options for rolling back the whole model branch to the Baseline state

 

 

Refresh

(Object-level items)

Re-run the comparison to refresh the current display

 

 

Find in Project Browser

Locate and highlight the item in the Project Browser

 

 

Expand All

Fully expand the selected item

 

 

Expand To Changed Items

Expand the selected item to show changed items only

 

 

Collapse All

Collapse the changed items in the selected item

 

 

Log To XML

Log the changes to an XML file

A browser displays, on which you specify the file name and location.

 

 

Compare Options

Display the Compare Options dialog

 

Compare Options

Reference - Merge Dialog:

Field

Usage

Shortcut

See also

Changed

Restore all changed items in the model branch to the Baseline state

 

 

In Baseline Only

Restore all deleted items to the model branch from the Baseline

 

 

In Model Only

Remove all recently-created items from the model branch

 

 

Moved

Restore all moved items to their original locations, as identified in the Baseline

 

 

Full Restore from XMI

Completely restore the model branch to the version held in the Baseline XMI 1.1 file, (using the XMI Import function).

(Automatically selects all the other options.)

 

 

Reference - Keyboard:

  • ( Ctrl+$ )   - expand and highlight the next changed item
  • ( Ctrl+# ) - expand and highlight the previous changed item
  • ( Ctrl+! ) - undo the changes for a selected item (roll back to the Baseline values)