Please note : This help page is for an older version of Enteprise Archtiect. The latest help can be found here.

Apply a User Lock

In the Require User Lock to Edit security mode, where a User Lock is required before any edit can occur, you can set or release the lock in either a diagram or the Project Browser.

Access

Select:

Project Browser | Package context menu | Apply/Release User Lock
Project Browser | Diagram context menu | Apply/Release User Lock
Project Browser | Element context menu | Apply/Release User Lock
Diagram background context menu | Apply/Release User Lock or
Diagram Element context menu | Apply/Release User Lock

Use to

Set an editing lock on a modeling object so that only you can edit the object
Clear the editing lock on the object

How to

To set or clear a user lock in Require User Lock to Edit security mode

Step

Action

See also

1

Right-click on the required object in the Project Browser or diagram, and select the Apply/Release User Lock option.

 

 

2

Select the appropriate radio button to apply a user lock to, or release a user lock on, the selected object.

Enterprise Architect adjusts the lock for the element, or for the diagram and any elements contained in the diagram.

 

 

3

For a package, if required, select to also lock all child packages.

If any elements in the package tree are locked by other users, a list of elements that couldn't be locked displays.

 

 

Learn more